What Pareve Means for Rosh Hashanah

Today at sundown begins a very important holiday for the Jewish faith, Rosh Hashanah. This holy day is also known as the Jewish New Year and the “Head of the Year” because it marks the anniversary of Adam and Eve.

While not all in the faith practice a kosher kitchen, when preparing dishes for the High Holiday over the next two days, it’s important to remember these rules for cooking and storing food. There are three different types of kosher classification: dairy, meat and pareve. Coconut oil falls into the pareve category.

A traditional Rosh Hashanah treat: honey cakes.

In a kosher kitchen, dairy and meat cannot touch and must be prepared separately. There are also specific rules to how the two can be prepared and stored. Pareve is a food that is neither meat nor dairy and can be used for either one. This classification labels all fruits, grains, vegetables, water and minerals in their natural state as this type of “neutral” food.

Because extra virgin coconut oil is neutral, it’s a perfect addition to the holiday tradition. Another reason to ditch the butter in kosher cooking is butter may actually change the nature of the foods it contacts since it’s a dairy product.

A traditional blessing for Rosh Hashanah is “shana tovah u’metukah”, Hebrew for “a good and sweet new year.” This is why many foods eaten for this holiday are sweet – like honey cake. You can also please your guests with our coconut macaroons.

Leshanah tovah tikateiv veteichateim.
May you be inscribed and sealed for a good year.


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared.
Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>